Interview
Biography
Gallery
Discography
Download
Guestbook
Forum
Links

Interview with Uffe Cederlund.

WE STILL TALK ABOUT YOUR FIRST BAND MORBID, ESPECIALLY BECAUSE LG PETROV (FUTURE SINGER OF NIHILIST AND ENTOMBED) WAS PLAYING DRUMS IN IT, BUT ALSO BECAUSE YOUR SINGER, PER OHLIN, HAS BEEN FAMOUS BY BECOMING DEAD WITH MAYHEM...
My implication in Morbid hasn't even lasted a year in fact. And we've recorded December Moon just to do like Mefisto, maybe the first true band playing death metal in Stockholm to have recorded a demo in 1986. I was really flattered to play with them because they were one or two years older than me, which makes a big difference when you're 15 years old (laugh)! They had long hair and preferred Venom and Mercyful Fate instead of trash and hardcore.

HAVE YOU BEEN DISAPPOINTED WHEN PER LEFT THE GROUP TO JOIN MAYHEM DURING SUMMER 1988?
The problem is that, after the recording of December Moon, the other guitarist and founder left the band. Nothing was happening with Morbid and Euronymous, who was in contact with Per since a year, proposed him to join Mayhem. I didn't blame him, not at all. We then recorded a second demo under the name of Morbid (Last Supper) with another singer not so long after, but the result wasn't good and we split-up. This is when LG and me have definetely joined Nihilist.

THERE'S STILL A LOT OF LEGENDS ABOUT PER. WERE THEY TRUE?
Well, to say, Per was someone... (he hesitates) special. But also really gentle and creative. For example, he never understood the bands that were doing a show in jeans and running shoes. He henceforth proposed us to wear costumes and add some dead trees on stage. During one of the only two concerts I did with Morbid, he arrived on stage inside a coffin that my father had found for us. He probably stole the idea from Alice Cooper (laugh)!

DID HIS SUICIDE IN APRIL 1991 SURPRISED YOU?
Yes and no. (silence) I was still in contact with him, but he was becoming more and more strange since he moved to Oslo. The guys of Mayhem asked him to immigrate, but in place, he was almost in the street: he hadn't even cash to buy something to eat! He was convinced that the woods next to where he lived were haunted and, of course, he found that pretty cool (little laugh)! His suicide shocked me. I was mad at Euronymous because he exploited his death to forge the legend of Mayhem.

A LOT OF BLACK METAL BANDS THEN STARTED TO PICK ON DEATH METAL BANDS, LIKE ENTOMBED, SAYING IT WAS "LIFE METAL".
Lots of talking for almost nothing. I think that the fact Entombed lived for so long is the best answer to these remarks. The bassist of Mayhem, Necrobutcher, even asked me to go on stage with them and play one of Morbid's song in tribute to Per, during the concert that was celebrating their twenty years of career. I refused because I'm not stupid. If our singer hadn't joined Mayhem and hadn't blew out his brain, nobody would still remember Morbid today.

 
Heather, 2009

Biography
Gallery
Discography
Download
Guestbook
Forum
Links

Уффе Цедерлунд, Hard'n'Heavy #112 Июнь 2005

МЫ ВСЕ ЕЩЕ ГОВОРИМ О ТВОЕЙ ПЕРВОЙ ГРУППЕ MORBID, В ОСНОВНОМ ИЗ-ЗА Л.Г. ПЕТРОВА (БУДУЩИЙ ВОКАЛИСТ NIHILIST И ENTOMBED), КОТОРЫЙ БЬЛ ТАМ БАРАБАНЩИКОМ. И ИЗ-ЗА ВАШЕГО ВОКАЛИСТА, ПЕРА ОЛИНА, КОТОРЫЙ ПРОСЛАВИЛСЯ КОГДА СТАЛ ДЭДОМ В MAYHEM...
Я участвовал в Morbid в действительности не один год. И мы записали December Moon только чтобы следовать примеру Mefisto, наверное первой группы, игравшей дэт метал в Стокгольме, они записали демо в 1986. Это была честь для меня, играть в группе, потому что там были те, кто был старше меня на год или два, в 15 лет это большая разница (смеется)! У них были длинные волосы и они предпочитали Venom и Mercifull Fate трэшу и хардкору.

ТЫ БЫЛ РАЗОЧАРОВАН КОГДА ПЕР ПОКИНУЛ ГРУППУ ЧТОБЫ ПРИСОЕДИНИТЬСЯ К MAYHEM ЛЕТОМ 1988?
Проблема была в том, что после записи December Moon, другой гитарист и основатель покинул группу. Ничего не происходило между Morbid и Евронимусом, который общался с Пером около года, предлагая ему присоединиться к Mayhem. Я не виню его, на самом деле. Мы потом записали второе демо под именем Morbid (Last Supper) с другим вокалистом достаточно быстро, но результат был плохим, и группа распалась. Тогда Л.Г. и я присоединились к Nihilist.

ВСЕ ЕЩЕ МНОГО ЛЕГЕНД ПРО ПЕРА. ОНИ РЕАЛЬНЫ?
Хорошо, если говорить, Пер был... (он колеблется) особенным. Но также он был тихим и творчесим человеком. Например, он никогда не понимал групп, которые приходили на шоу в джинсах и кроссовках. С того времени он предложил нам носить костюмы и добавить несколько мертвых деревьев на сцену. Во время одного или двух концертов когда я был с Morbid, он прибыл на сцену в гробу, который нашел для нас мой отец. Он, вероятно, позаимствовал идею у Элиса Купера (смех)!

ЕГО САМОУБИЙСТВО В АПРЕЛЕ 1991 УДИВИЛО ТЕБЯ?
Да и нет. (молчание) Я все еще общался с ним, но он становился все более и более странным с того момента, как переехал в Осло. Парни из Mayhem попросили его переехать, но на месте, он почти оказался на улице: у него даже не было денег купить еду! Он считал, что в лесах рядом с домом были призраки и, конечно, ему это нравилось (смешок)! Его самоубийство шокировало меня. Я злился на Евронимуса, из-за использования его смерти для раздувания легенды вокруг Mayhem.

МНОГО БЛЭК-МЕТАЛ ГРУПП ТОГДА НАЧАЛИ ПРИДИРАТЬСЯ В ДЭТ-МЕТАЛ ГРУППАМ, ВРОДЕ ENTOMBED, ГОВОРЯТ, ЭТО "МЕТАЛ ЖИЗНИ".
Много разговоров почти из ничего. Я думаю, что существование Entombed в течении такого долгого срока является лучшим ответом на эти реплики. Басист Mayhem, Некробатчер, как-то попросил меня выйти с ними на сцену и сыграть одну из песен Morbid, в память Пера, когда они отмечали 20-тилетие группы. Я отказался, потому что я не дурак. Если бы наш вокалист не присоединился к Mayhem и не выбил бы себе мозги, никто не слышал бы сейчас про Morbid.

Перевод: Heather

 

 

 
Heather, 2009